Dyeing with Logwood

As I was only using a small amount of fibre I only needed 1.5g of logwood. I soaked this in boiling water over night then simmered it for 2 hours and left it again.Initially my dye looked a nice purple colour but after it cooled became a dark blackish brown. I’m not quite sure of the cause of this but think perhaps I simmered it for too long, the dye reacted with the metal of the pan or allowing it to cool before use changed the colour. I intend to try using this dye again to see if I can improve the colour.Due to the change in the colour of the dye my fibres came out in shades of brown, it could be interesting to incorporate these but they are not really colours that I want to use.

Leave a Reply

