Tutor Feedback 3

This tutorial was significantly helpful as Lucy was able to resolve some of the problems I have been having with my work. I have been unsure of the best way to display my spinning samples as they are more difficult to lay out on sheets than fabric samples. Lucy suggest that I make a header and stick this into a piece of mount board. I will therefore book to do this with Ruth next week.

I have also been struggling with my plans for displaying my work in the exhibition. I have been thinking about wrapping my yarns around a structure to create a kind of yarn sculpture. The majority of my inspiration for this idea has involved wrapping around wood or other natural objects but I have still been unsure what to use or if using wood will work. Lucy also made the suggestion of using wood and as this fits in with the ideas I am considering already I intend to follow this up by foraging for interesting sticks around brookes and experimenting with wrapping my yarns around them. This meeting with my tutor has been especially useful in helping me to consolidate my ideas and move forward.

Leave a Reply

